Aki Yamaguchi Photography

Capture the Angels

Patch – 12 weeks old male, Adopted

Update: January 27

It’s been two weeks since I got him. He’s been doing really great in everything we’ve been working on. He now holds 8 hours in a small crate at night. I take him out every hour or two when he’s loose. When I can’t watch him, he stays in small pen with his toys and chews. He is not house trained yet but he is learning that going on the grass is the right thing. He is tough and confident and he started stalking! He loves to play tug with me and my dog. I have begun working on his manners a few days ago now that he is feeling all better. I will post a video later this week.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Exk2FG97eY&feature=youtu.be

Updated on January 20.

If someone ever tells you fostering puppies is easy…ask again. I’ve been fostering young pups back to back these days. Yes, puppies are cute and fun but they are a lot of work. And it’s a reminder for those who want to adopt a cute cuddly puppy that he also poops and pees every hour, not to mention they will try to chew everything. Every time a foster puppy gets adopted, I tell myself no more puppies. Then I somehow convince myself to get another…ha! I named him “Patch” (Patchy). He’s about 11 weeks old and was found as a stray in North Texas along with his litter mates. On day 9 (today) he stalked BC style. His brother Jackson, who will also be available for adoption soon, looks like a traditional tri Border Collie.

001

Patchy was quite vocal when I got him. It’s been 9 days since I got him and he finally stopped screaming when he’s left alone. I know it was very stressful being separated from his brother and he has not been feeling too well. He can now settle down in his crate after a few little whines. He’s currently on antibiotics. He will be available to go to his forever home later this week. He is playful, sweet, pretty confident, curious and affectionate.  He loves to play tug with me and with my lab. I tested to see how long he’d hold onto a tail teaser toy. I had to stop after 2 minutes because he would not stop. He would be a good candidate for agility and flyball. He’s really good about going potty when he’s let out. I can now stand by the backdoor and let him out on his own. He crosses the concrete area, finds the first patch of grass to pee and comes back immediately. He usually holds 3-4 hours, but he is starting to hold longer and longer at night. To me, he’s mellow for a 11 weeks old puppy.  After a short exercise, Patch can settle down on a bed with a piece of bone. He LOVES my dog’s orthopedic beds. His left eye patch looks like a heart from one angle. From left side, he looks like a panda bear. He is also a lap dog.

023

 020 019
 015 002
 014 008
 009  012
030 029
 
010  1546078_10202449934265574_2068933422_n
 026 040

His brother Jackson. He will be available for adoption soon.

jackson
Ford (left) is also available for adoption. Doesn’t he look like Patchy’s brother from another mother?
Tega (right) is adoption pending.

1514154_651675728227158_1315609960_n

The perfect home for Patch would be;

  • A family with other friendly dog(s). If the resident dog does not appreciate puppy behaviors (licking/jumping) they should be monitored constantly until they are comfortable with each other
  • A family with children are OK. He actually enjoys being held but kids and dogs should be monitored at all times!
  • A home with secure/tall fences
  • I prefer that he gets adopted either in Texas or Oklahoma. But we consider out of state adoption if we can figure out a home visit and transportation. He must be transported by car, not by air.
  • A family who are not going to give up on him when a challenge arises

We also  have LOTS of Border Collies and Border Collie mixes for adoption. Please check out our website. If you have any questions, please contact us via website. I don’t check my blog very often so your questions might not get answered promptly.

003

15 comments on “Patch – 12 weeks old male, Adopted

  1. workfortreats
    January 14, 2014

    oh my, i better get on the ball and get my pictures and bio done for Jackson. He has the exact same personality as described above, except I think he could care less about being separates from Patch, since he’s made very good friends my with two. He holds for 4 hours at night and settles in a crate after about 20 somewhat excruciating minutes…i sure that will temper with time. He is SMART and is PRO at potty training. We’ve only had two accidents in 3 days and those were of course our fault for waiting too long to take him out.

    • bwbc
      January 14, 2014

      He is a screamer too? It sounds like someone is hurting him. The scream is getting better, more whining now thank goodness. How’s his poop and sneeze?

      • workfortreats
        January 14, 2014

        Lol! His poop is soft but seems normal given stress and changing foods. No sneezing and he started antibiotics yesterday and his cough is considerably better.

  2. Fenne
    January 15, 2014

    Beautiful photographs, I hope he will find a good home for the rest of his life.

  3. Katherine
    January 16, 2014

    Oh my gosh, he is adorable and so lucky to be with you! Every time I see you with a new puppy foster, you give me puppy fever, BAD!! If only they could come to school with me and teach the kids how to behave, until then I must wait until the summer to get my hands on a puppy foster!! How does Coopie and Jazzy like this new boy in the house?!

    • bwbc
      January 16, 2014

      Is this Katherine from ABCR?
      Didn’t you have the cute merle foster last year? I thought you were going to fail fostering with that little one. 🙂 Wouldn’t that be nice if you could take a pup to school, maybe a mascot! my dogs got so used to new dogs, nothing new to them anymore. 😀

  4. Lori Lee/ lololeelee
    January 17, 2014

    Those two fellows look pretty pure Border Collie to me after 2 Mommas (1 raised from pup) and 2 litters and a whole lot of creeping of Border Collie posters on IG. Sure wish I could apply to adopt Patchy, he sure has the personality I would love for my next furbaby. Our sweet BC Nikki is 13 now and I was thinking to have a pup to train for hospital service visits and to be a companion to Miss Nikkster. I work with Special Ed kids also so a reading and social buddy might be part of the job too. But, alas I live way out in Northern California and do not have a fence at my mountain home. So I will have to keep waiting till we retire to the valley where the house has a fence!
    Just wanted to say to you bwbc/bordernerd that you’re the best! Just love all your posts of Jazzy and Coopie and that you are so active in the rescue community. so vital! Thank you so much for allowing me to live vicariously border collie through you. lol 🙂

    • bwbc
      January 18, 2014

      Hi Lori! Such a kind comment…made my day. I do make some exceptions to out of state/no fence homes if it’s a really great home otherwise. I have made one exception and sent one of my fosters to NY home without any fence. They kept him on leash when outside and they also live on a large property. If you really think he is the right dog, an you’d be the right home for him, please apply for him. 🙂 Last puppy was adopted by a lady in florida too. It just worked out perfectly because her friend happened to be here and she was able to transport back to florida. I think when it’s meant to happen, it will happen.

  5. Lori Lee/ lololeelee
    January 20, 2014

    Thanks for that! I really feel, after much thought and some discussion, we should probably wait till Miss Nikki isn’t with us any longer and we are retired. Even tho it’s SO TEMPTING! Very similar to your dilemma when you were fostering Puppy. They are so sweet and charm the pants off you but you have wait till all the elements are right. They (and you) deserve that. I’ll keep following your posts cuz your photos are so beautiful and your furbabies so awesome! I’ll just keep my puppy fever at bay till the time is truly right. But I am glad to know that the BC rescue you work with is open to travel, etc. It keeps me hoping. My sister and her family live in Tulsa if we needed an interim link. I’ll keep that in my hip pocket too! Enjoy the boy while you have him and my thanks again for sharing your life and letting me live vicariously through you. lol.

    • bwbc
      January 22, 2014

      I totally understand and respect you Lori! The babies we have at home are the top priority 🙂 Thank you for your kind words!

  6. Jill
    February 11, 2014

    My daughter and I desperately wanted Patch, but couldn’t get my husband on board. Sad for us, but glad he found a home. 🙂

    • bwbc
      February 14, 2014

      Hi Jill,
      Thanks for your comment. Hopefully you’ll get your new puppy in the near future! 🙂

  7. Sue Carr
    April 2, 2014

    I commend u on the work u do with older dogs. When I had to put my dog down she had just turned 14. But I also have had cats that lived a long time. We lost one cat to a stroke when she was 12, and the other one passed this past December– she was the ripe old age of 19 yrs and 9 months. Our third cat is about 13 I think-we have had her since 2005. I love my cats but love dogs also. May take a look at the shelters here to see if they have an older pup(over 10) that could be company in my retirement years. I can’t walk to fast so an elder pup would be great!!!

    • bwbc
      April 2, 2014

      You are so sweet for considering an older pup. They are just the best..mellow, wise but know when to get playful. I hope you will find your next best friend soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 14, 2014 by in Recent Posts and tagged , , , .
