Aki Yamaguchi Photography

Capture the Angels

Luke – Adopted

Luke has been adopted.

Luke2

Meet Luke! We don’t know too much about Luke’s past as he was found as a stray in TX. He appeared to be 7-8 weeks as of October 12 when I got him. He looks like a pure bred Border Collie but we can never tell for sure. He learned to sit for a hand signal on day 2, verbal down on day 3. We are working on his play drive so that it can be used to train in the future. To curve his obsession with Jazzy’s fluffy tail and my long hair, I got him a duster on a stick. He loves to nibble and tug on it. His mouthing and chewing can be easily redirected with food or toys.

Adoption video:

 Luke17Luke16

Luke4

On week 1, his energy level is pretty low for a Border Collie puppy. He is playful but it is not excessive. However, I am used to over-the-top high energy dogs, so he might be very active and wild to other people. We are mainly working on confinement this week. He howled and cried when I put him in a pen. He is quite a talker. It took him 2 minutes to figure out that crying doesn’t get me back but it is still work in progress. He is able to hold for 4 hours in his crate as long as his bladder is empty before going in. If he’s not crated, I take him out every 30 minutes to an hour. He goes potty on cue for me. He also potties on pad. He’s social but not excessively jumpy or mouthy as long as you don’t pay those behaviors. He is curious about my two large dogs but they ignore him for the most part. He is available for adoption to a qualified home in Texas. To apply or learn about our adoption process and adoption fee, please visit ABCR website.

I am looking for a family that;

  • Is active and experienced with herding breeds
  • Has no small children. No babies in the near future. UPDATE: It is mainly because I want him to have the attention he deserves. If you have children but think you can still commit to a young puppy, please do apply!
  • Is fully committed – willing to work on issues instead of returning
  • Other dogs are OK but must be monitored (Many adult dogs do not like puppy behaviors)
  • Lives in Texas and willing to drive to meet him (all family members must be involved in the decision making).
  • UPDATE: You don’t live in Texas but if we can find a way to do a home visit, we’d consider it.
  • Secure fence is a must
  • Does not use shock collar or any other punitive training equipment
  • I am extremely protective of my foster dogs. I hope you understand that all I am trying to do is finding the best and forever home for Luke!

lUKE6

For size comparison, Jazzy on the left is 33lbs.

lUKE5

  Luke3  Luke1

D70_5010BuddhaLuke12Luke9

If you have any questions, please contact me at bcrescue@me.com

17 comments on “Luke – Adopted

  1. littledoglinus
    October 17, 2013

    He is precious! I know you are giving him a great start and will find him the perfect family!

    • bwbc
      October 18, 2013

      Thank you! I hope so too ❤

    • bwbc
      November 1, 2013

      Thank you! He just got adopted and I hope he’ll have a wonderful life with the new family. ❤ 🙂

  2. workfortreats
    October 17, 2013

    man… you sure know how to sell a dog…got me wanting to adopt him!!!!

    • bwbc
      October 18, 2013

      haha That’s good!!

    • bwbc
      November 1, 2013

      🙂 Thanks!

  3. Mrfluffyandrajah
    October 18, 2013

    Oh my word. So cute!! Love all the extra photos. I honestly thought Border Collies were suited to families with kids! Something new I have learnt today! You do such a great job Aki with fostering BCs are lucky to have you on their side!

    • bwbc
      October 18, 2013

      Thank you N! 🙂 It’s not that I don’t think BCs are good with kids. There are many great families with kids that are good with BCs, like yours. And there are many BCs that are great with kids. I just prefer Luke to go to a family who have a lot of time to dedicate for him. It can be difficult to do that when they have small children or a baby on the way. I have worked with many families with little kids that recently adopted a puppy. But they often don’t have time to train the puppy and he ends up being neglected, worse case returned to a shelter, you know?

  4. mrfluffyandrajah
    October 18, 2013

    Yes for sure! I completely understand! I hope he finds a good home!

  5. Margie Fluke
    October 20, 2013

    I am SO interested in Luke!! I have 2 border collies that we play disc with, at home and in competitions. I think he would be a great addition to our family! My only thing is I live on a 16 acre apple orchard, and cannot fence that in. I have both my dogs trainedon and off leash, solid recall, and they are never left unattended outside. I would love to add Luke to our border collie loving family. What do i need to do since I live in PA and you are in TX???

  6. Margie Fluke
    October 20, 2013

    I completed the application online and look forward to hopefully adopting this wonderful little guy!!!!

  7. Kelly
    October 24, 2013

    My husband and I are in the market for a puppy. We can’t pick up until after Thanksgiving though. We have already adopted through ABCR and are approved for a second dog. Is it terrible that I kind of hope no one adopts him until we can? LOL! He is so precious. ❤

    • bwbc
      November 1, 2013

      Hi Kelly,
      Luke just got adopted this week but I hope you will find your next pup from our group when you are ready. 🙂

  8. Handsomejackthebc
    October 25, 2013

    Oh my, Luke is adorable and so smart. What a great saleswoman you are! You’ve made a beautiful video. I wish I could adopt him. My family lives in TX but they already have adult dogs. I am going to forward on to them if they know of anyone.

    • bwbc
      November 1, 2013

      Sorry for the late response. Thanks for visiting and saying I’m a good saleswoman hehe. 🙂

  9. @rosemary_clare
    October 31, 2013

    How haven’t I come across this page earlier and that video is so cute! I’m in love with him! 😍❤️

    • bwbc
      November 1, 2013

      Welcome to my little blog Rosemary 🙂 He is such a cute and smart little guy. Great life ahead of him. ❤

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 17, 2013 by in Recent Posts and tagged , , , , .
